## **Cultural Diversity Subcommittee – 2017-2018**

## **Subcommittee Members:**

- Dr. Patricia Hunt-Hurst, Chair, College of Family and Consumer Sciences
- Dr. Kira Epstein, College of Veterinary Medicine
- Dr. Rodney Mauricio, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
- Dr. Sudhagar Mani, College of Engineering, absent
- Dr. David Okech, School of Social Work

The Cultural Diversity Subcommittee of the University Curriculum Committee met on November 28, 2017, at 4:00 p.m., in room 315 New College.

The subcommittee elected Dr. Patricia Hunt-Hurst as chair of the Cultural Diversity Subcommittee.

The subcommittee approved the requests to include the following courses in the list of courses that satisfy the University-wide Cultural Diversity Requirement for the following colleges:

## Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

ARED 3070, Visual Culture, Diversity, and Pedagogy

ENGL 3880S, The Modern Civil Rights Movement in Literature and Culture

ENGL 4884W, Contemporary African American Writing

LACS 2020, Multidisciplinary Caribbean Studies

LACS 2030, Multidisciplinary Brazilian Studies

LACS 2030I, Multidisciplinary Brazilian Studies

MUSI 2300, Music in Athens

MUSI 2300H, Music in Athens (Honors)

SOCI 3340, Social Psychology of Race, Racism, and Discrimination

## College of Public Health

GRNT 3000, Aspects of Aging

GRNT 3000E, Aspects of Aging

The subcommittee continued discussion of revisions to the Cultural Diversity policy. Dr. Kira Epstein will draft a policy revision prior to the next meeting.

The next meeting of the Cultural Diversity Subcommittee will be determined at a later date.

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.