Academic Calendar 2005-2006

Approved by University Council April 22, 2004
Amended by University Council April 21, 2005
(new drop/add policy is effective Spring 2006)

Fall Semester 2005*:

Based on 50 minute classes (MWF), 75 minute classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes, 75 days of classes

Orientation Aug. 15 Monday
Advisement Aug. 16 Tuesday
Late Registration Aug. 17 Wednesday
Classes Begin Aug. 18 Thursday
Drop/Add Aug. 18-25 (Ends at noon) Thursday – Noon Thursday
Holiday(Labor Day) Sept. 5 Monday
Midterm Oct. 11 Tuesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline Oct. 14 Friday
Fall Break Oct. 27 - 28 Thursday – Friday
Holiday (Thanksgiving) Nov. 23 – 25 Wednesday – Friday
Classes Resume Nov. 28 Monday
Classes End Dec. 8 Thursday
Reading Day Dec. 9 Friday
Final Exams Dec. 12 – 16 Monday-Friday
Grades Due Dec. 19 Monday
Commencement Dec. 17 Saturday

*Note: For the Fall Semester 2005, the University will operate a Friday class schedule on Tuesday, Dec. 6. This is done to equalize the class minutes between MWF and TTH classes and to provide an equal number of class meetings for courses which may meet only once per week.

 

Spring Semester 2006:

Based on 50 minutes classes (MWF), 75 minutes classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes, 75 days of classes

Orientation Jan. 4 Wednesday
Advisement Jan. 5 Thursday
Late Registration Jan. 6 Friday
Classes Begin Jan. 9 Monday
Drop/Add for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Jan. 9 – Jan. 12 Monday – Thursday
Drop/Add for graduate level courses
(6000 – 9999)
Jan. 9 – Jan. 17 Monday – following Tuesday
Holiday (MLK Jr. Day) Jan. 16 Monday
Midterm March 2 Thursday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline March 7 Tuesday
Last Day of Classes (prior to spring break) March 10 Friday
Spring Break March 13 – 17 Monday – Friday
Classes Resume March 20 Monday
Classes End May 1 Monday
Reading Day May 2 Tuesday
Final Exams May 3-5, May 8-9 Wed – Fri, Mon – Tues
Grades Due May 12 Friday
Commencement May 13 Saturday

 

Summer 2006

May Session

Based on 150 minutes daily, 15 days of classes

Late Registration May 15 Monday
Classes Begin May 16 Tuesday
Drop/Add May 16 Tuesday
Midterm May 25 Thursday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline May 25 Thursday
Holiday (Memorial Day) May 29 Monday
Classes End June 6 Tuesday
Final Exams June 7 Wednesday
Grades Due June 12 Monday
Commencement Aug. 5 Saturday


Extended Summer Session: Based on 205 minutes per week for 11 weeks (2250 minutes for a 3 hour course).

Late Registration May 15 Monday
Classes Begin May 16 Tuesday
Drop/Add for Undergraduate-level courses (1000 – 5999) May 16 – 19 Tuesday – Friday
Drop/Add for Graduate-level courses (6000 – 9999) May 16 – 23 Tuesday – following Tuesday
Holiday (Memorial Day) May 29 Monday
Midterm June 22 Thursday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline June 26 Monday
Holiday (4th of July) July 4 Tuesday
Classes End Aug. 1 Tuesday
Final Exams Aug. 2-4 Wednesday – Friday
Grades Due Aug. 7 Monday
Commencement Aug. 5 Saturday

 

Thru Term:

Based on 60 minutes daily, 38 days of class

Orientation June 5 Monday
Advisement June 6 Tuesday
Late Registration June 7 Wednesday
Classes Begin June 8 Thursday
Drop/Add June 8 – 12 Thursday – Monday
Holiday (4th of July) July 4 Tuesday
Midterm July 5 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline July 7 Friday
Classes End Aug. 1 Tuesday
Final Exams Aug. 2 – 4 Wednesday – Friday
Grades Due Aug. 7 Monday
Commencement Aug. 5 Saturday

 

Short Session I:

Based on 120 minutes daily, 19 days of classes

Orientation June 5 Monday
Advisement June 6 Tuesday
Late Registration June 7 Wednesday
Classes Begin June 8 Thursday
Drop/Add June 8-12 Thursday – Monday
Midterm June 21 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline June 21 Wednesday
Holiday (4th of July) July 4 Tuesday
Classes End July 5 Wednesday
Final Exams July 6 Thursday
Grades Due July 10 Monday
Commencement Aug. 5 Saturday

 

Short Session II:

Based on 120 minutes daily, 18 days of classes

Late Registration July 6 Thursday
Classes Begin July 7 Friday
Drop/Add July 7 – 10 Friday – Monday
Midterm July 19 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline July 19 Wednesday
Classes End Aug. 1 Tuesday
Final Exams Aug. 2 Wednesday
Grades Due Aug. 7 Monday
Commencement Aug. 5 Saturday