Academic Calendar for 2009 – 2010

Approved by University Council on March 20, 2008

Jump down to:
Fall 2009 | Spring 2010 | Summer 2010

Fall Semester 2009*

Based on 50 minute classes (MWF), 75 minute classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes, 75 days of classes

Orientation Aug. 12 Wednesday
Advisement Aug. 13 Thursday
Registration Aug. 14 Friday
Classes Begin Aug. 17 Monday
Drop for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Aug. 17 – Aug. 20 Monday - Thursday
Add for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Aug. 17 – Aug. 21 Monday - Friday
Drop for graduate level courses (6000 – 9999) Aug. 17 – Aug. 24 Monday – Following Monday
Add for graduate level courses (6000 – 9999) Aug. 17 – Aug. 25 Monday – Following Tuesday
Holiday: Labor Day – No Classes Sept. 7 Monday
Midterm Oct. 8 Thursday
Withdrawal Deadline Oct. 22 Thursday
Fall Break Oct. 30 Friday
Last Day of Classes Prior to Thanksgiving Break Nov. 20 Friday
Holidays: Thanksgiving Nov. 23 – 27 Monday - Friday
Classes Resume Nov. 30 Monday
Friday Class Schedule In Effect* Dec. 8 Tuesday
Classes End Dec. 8 Tuesday
Reading Day Dec. 9 Wednesday
Final Exams Dec. 10, 11, 14, 15, 16 Thurs. – Fri., Mon. – Wed.
Commencement Dec. 18 Friday
Grades Due Dec. 18, 7 PM Friday, 7 PM

*Note: For the Fall Semester 2009, the University will operate a Friday class schedule on Tuesday, Dec. 8. This is done to equalize the class minutes between MWF and TTH classes and to provide an equal number of class meetings for courses which may meet only once per week.

Back to Top

Spring Semester 2010*

Based on 50 minutes classes (MWF), 75 minutes classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes, 75 days of classes
Orientation Jan. 4 Monday
Advisement Jan. 5 Tuesday
Registration Jan. 6 Wednesday
Classes Begin Jan. 7 Thursday
Drop for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Jan. 7 – Jan. 12 Thursday – Tuesday
Add for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Jan. 7 – Jan. 13 Thursday - Wednesday
Drop for graduate level courses (6000 – 9999) Jan. 7 – Jan. 14 Thursday – following Thursday
Add for graduate level courses (6000 – 9999) Jan. 7 – Jan. 15 Thursday – following Friday
Holiday: Martin Luther King Jr. Day Jan. 18 Monday
Midterm March 2 Tuesday
Withdrawal Deadline March 23 Tuesday
Last Day of Classes Prior to Spring Break March 5 Friday
Spring Break March 8 – 12 Monday – Friday
Classes Resume March 15 Monday
Monday Class Schedule in Effect* April 29 Thursday
Classes End April 29 Thursday
Reading Day April 30 Friday
Final Exams May 3 – 7 Monday - Friday
Commencement May 8 Saturday
Grades Due May 10 Monday, 7 PM

*Note: For the Spring Semester 2010, the University will operate a Monday class schedule on Thursday, April 29. This is done to equalize the class minutes between MWF and TTH classes and to provide an equal number of class meetings for courses which may meet only once per week.

Back to Top

Summer 2010

May Session: Based on 150 minutes daily, 15 days of classes


Registration
May 10 Monday
Classes Begin May 11 Tuesday
Drop/Add May 11 – 12 Tuesday – Wednesday
Midterm May 20 Thursday
Withdrawal Deadline May 24 Monday
Holiday: Memorial Day May 31 Monday
Classes End June 1 Tuesday
Final Exams June 2 Wednesday
Grades Due June 4 Friday, 7 PM
Commencement July 31 Saturday

Extended Summer Session: Based on 205 minutes per week for 11 weeks (2250 minutes for a 3 hour course).


Registration
May 10 Monday
Classes Begin May 11 Tuesday
Drop for undergraduate-level courses (1000 – 5999) May 11 – 14 Tuesday – Friday
Add for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) May 11 – 17 Tuesday - Monday
Drop for graduate-level courses (6000 – 9999) May 11 – 18 Tuesday – following Tuesday
Add for graduate-level courses (6000 – 9999) May 11 – 19 Tuesday – following Wednesday
Holiday: Memorial Day May 31 Monday
Midterm June 18 Friday
Withdrawal Deadline July 2 Friday
Holiday: 4th of July July 5 Monday
Classes End July 28 Wednesday
Final Exams July 29 – 30 Thursday - Friday
Commencement July 31 Saturday
Grades Due Aug. 2 Monday, 7 PM

Thru Term: Based on 60 minutes daily, 38 days of class


Orientation
June 1 Tuesday
Advisement June 2 Wednesday
Registration June 3 Thursday
Classes Begin June 4 Friday
Drop June 4 – 8 Friday - Tuesday
Add June 4 – 9 Friday - Wednesday
Midterm July 1 Thursday
Withdrawal Deadline July 9 Friday
Holiday: 4th of July July 5 Monday
Classes End July 28 Wednesday
Final Exams July 29 – 30 Thursday - Friday
Commencement July 31 Saturday
Grades Due Aug. 2 Monday, 7 PM

Short Session I: Based on 120 minutes daily, 19 days of classes


Orientation
June 1 Tuesday
Advisement June 2 Wednesday
Registration June 3 Thursday
Classes Begin June 4 Friday
Drop June 4 – 7 Friday - Monday
Add June 4 – 8 Friday - Tuesday
Midterm June 17 Thursday
Withdrawal Deadline June 21 Monday
Classes End June 30 Wednesday
Final Exams July 1 Thursday
Grades Due July 6 Tuesday, 7 PM
Commencement July 31 Saturday

Short Session II: Based on 120 minutes daily, 19 days of classes


Registration
July 1 Thursday
Classes Begin July 2 Friday
Drop July 2 - 6 Friday - Tuesday
Add July 2 – 7 Friday - Wednesday
Holiday: 4th of July July 5 Monday
Midterm July 16 Friday
Withdrawal Deadline July 20 Tuesday
Classes End July 29 Thursday
Final Exams July 30 Friday
Commencement July 31 Saturday
Grades Due Aug. 2 Monday, 7 PM